July 12, 2011

Abu Dhabi Submission Grappling Championships September 24-25 2011

On September 24-25th worlds best grapplers will gather on the island of Han (just kidding!!  This year it is in Nottingham, England) to fight in the Abu Dhabi Submission Championships.  Fighting via invite or qualification only, this venue is considered to be the pinnacle of submission style grappling where winners often walk away $10,000 richer!  

The great news for those of us living far, far away from Sherwood forest is that Budo Videos is going to be streaming the matches free!  

Go to Budo Videos for more information on making an account and watching the live stream.

Check out the stellar cast:

1. Rafael Mendes. Brazil (2009 World Champion)
2. Greger Forsel. Finland (2010 European Champion)
3. Marko Ramos. USA (2010 North-American Champion)
4. David Marinakis. Australia (2011 South Pacific Champion)
5. Tetsu Hadairo. Japan (2011 Asian Champion)
6. Jeff Glover. USA (2011 North-American Champion)
7. Bruno Frazzato. Brazil (2011 South-American Champion)
8. Timo-Juhani Hirvikangas. Finland (2011 European Champion)
9. Ryan Hall. USA
10. Rubens “Cobrinha” Charles. Brazil
11. Tom Barlow. U.K
12. Barret Yoshida. USA
13. Rani Yahya. Brazil
14. Robson Moura. Brazil
15. Denny Prokopos. USA
1. Pablo Popovich. USA (2009 World Champion)
2. Jorge Britto. Portugal (2010 European Champion)
3. Vagner Rocha. USA (2010 North-American Champion)
4. Davis Hart. Australia (2011 South Pacific Champion)
5. Gomi Takanori. Japan (2011 Asian Champion)
6. Enricco Coco. USA (2011 North-American Champion)
7. Murilo Santana. Brazil (2011 South-American Champion)
8. Daniel Strauss. U.K (2011 European Champion)
9. Leo Viera. Brazil
10. Gunnar ‘viking’ Nelson. Iceland
11. Marcello Garcia. Brazil
12. Kron Gracie. Brazil
13. JT Torres. USA
14. Augusto Mendes. Brazil
1. Andre Galvao. Brazil (2009 2nd World championships, Estima go to Superfight vs Jacare)
2. Marko Helen. Finland (2010 European Champion)
3. Rustam Chsiev. Russian (2010 North-American Champion)
4. Cameron Rowe. Australia (2011 South Pacific Champion)
5. Jeon Doo Kwang. Korea (2011 Asian Champion)
6. JJ Holmes. USA (2011 North-American Champion)
7. Claudio Calasans. Brazil (2011 South-American Champion)
8. Zbigniew Tyszka. Poland (2011 European Champion)
9. Pablo Popovitch. USA
10. Rafael Lovato. USA
11. Rousimar Palhares. Brazil
12. Romulo Barral. Brazil
13. Sergio Moraes. Brazil
14. Paulo Filho. Brazil
1. Xande Ribeiro. Brazil (2009 Champion)
2. Kari Peltola. Finland (2010 European Champion)
3. Joseph Lee Baize. USA (2010 North-American Champion)
4. Igor Praporshchikov. Australia (2011 South Pacific Champion)
5. Animal Anzai. Japan (2011 Asian Champion)
6. James Poupolo. USA (2011 North-American Champion)
7. Renato Ferreira. Brazil (2011 South-American Champion)
8. Kamil Uminski. Poland (2011 European Champion)
9. Roger Gracie. Brazil
10. Rudolfo Viera. Brazil
11. Dean Lister. USA
12. Robert Drysdale. USA
13. Joao Assis. Brazil
14. Radek Turek. Poland
15. Dan Schon. Mexico
1. Fabricio Werdum. Brazil (2009 Champion)
2. Janne-Pekka Pietiläinen. Finland (2010 European Champion)
3. Mario Rinaldi. USA (2010 North-American Champion)
4. Mick Wilson. Australia (2011 South Pacific Champion)
5. Sekine Hideki. Japan (2011 Asian Champion)
6. Jared Rosholt. USA (2011 North-American Champion)
7. Gabriel Vella. Brazil (2011 South-American Champion)
8. Mateusz Juskowiak. Poland (2011 2nd European Championships)
9. Jeff Monson. USA
10. Roberto ”Cyborg” de Abreu. Brazil
11. Bruno Bastos. Brazil
12. Antonio ”bigfoot” Silva. Brazil
13. Jose Fereira Junior. Brazil
14. Gerardi Rinaldi. USA
15. Vinny Magalhaes. Brazil
16. Alexander Trans. Denmark
1. Luanna Alzuguir. Brazil (2009 World Champion)
2. Lara Jayne Ng. Australia (2011 South Pacific Champion)
3. Hashi Takayo. Japan (2011 Asian Champion)
4. Cathilee Albert. USA (2011 North-American Champion)
5. Michele Nicolin. Brazil (2011 South-American Champion)
6. Sara Svensson. Sweden (2011 European Champion)
7. Kyra Gracie. Brazil
1. Hannette Staack. Brazil (2009 World Champion)
2. Fiona Muxlow. Australia (2011 South Pacific Champion)
3. Penny Thomas. South Africa (2011 North-American Champion)
4. Talita Nogueira. Brazil (2011 South-American Champion)
5. Devi Ahuja. Norway (2011 European Champion)
6. Gabrielle Garcia. Brazil
7. Christe Cyborg. Brazil

Jacare and Estima will be fighting a super fight, along with Renzo Gracie vs. Mario Sperry.  Eddie Bravo vs. Royler Gracie is still not confirmed as Royler is basically being a very typical Gracie and demanding exuberant amounts of money ($50,000 to fight, $25,000 win bonus).  We will see what happens with that situation.
A slight change in rules this year will make things interesting... competitors will weigh in just prior to stepping on the mat and fighting.  You don't make weight, you sit in the stands and watch your dreams slip away in front of you.  I like this change as it will discourage drastic weight cuts in a venue that has very broad weight divisions.  
Really looking forward to this years Abu Dhabi CC!  

No comments:

Post a Comment