March 18, 2012

Penn St. NCAA Wrestling Champions

A record 18,919 people sat perched on the edge of their seats this past week for one of the most exciting NCAA Division I wrestling tournaments ever!  Packing the Scott Trade Center in St. Louis, Mo. spectators were treated to outstanding matches in every single weight category.  A field comprised mostly of freshman and sophomore's, these guys fought a tough struggle all weekend long with Penn State clinching the team title for the second consecutive year.

Team Standings:

  1. Penn St.
  2. Minnesota
  3. Iowa
  4. Cornell
  5. Ohio State
  6. Oklahoma St.
  7. Illinois
  8. Lehigh
  9. Northwestern
  10. Oregon St.

Once again we see the dominance of Midwest wrestling with the Big Ten showing 12 finalists this year, as well as dominating the team standings as well.  34 wrestlers earned All American Honors from the Big Ten.  

Champions at weights broke down like this:

125# Matt Mcdonough (Iowa)

133# Logan Stieber (Ohio State) - Logan's first championship

141# Kellen Russell (Michigan)

149# Frank Molinaro (Penn St.)

157# Kyle Dake (Cornell) - Kyle is the first wrestler to win at three different weight classes!

165# David Taylor (Penn St.) - Most dominant wrestler (513 points - season long).  Named outstanding wrestler of the year, as well as winning the Gorriaran Award with four pins in 8:46.  

Ed Ruth dominating the season!
174# Ed Ruth (Penn St.) - Went 31-0 this year!

184# Steve Bosak (Cornell)

197# Cam Simaz (Cornell)

HWT# Tony Nelson (Minnesota)

Shout out to Binghampton's Donnie Vinson who was the fourth seed and lost his first match of the tournament.  Went on to win seven straight  to place third at 149$ and earning All American honors!  THAT is what the struggle, the pain, the hours, the sweat is all for!  Nicely done Donnie!

No comments:

Post a Comment