March 23, 2013

NCAA Wrestling Championship: Penn St. 3rd Consecutive Team Title

An exciting, and record making, weekend of Division I wrestling was capped off today as Penn St. locked in their third consecutive championship under coach Chael Sanderson.  Just keeping ahead of Minnesota, PSU are well on the way to what one could argue is "dynasty" status.  Keep in mind on top of the ruthless onslaught, they lose only ONE starter for next year!  Can Penn State make it four in a row?   Kyle Dake did.

Cornell's rise into the elite levels of collegiate wrestling has to certain degree been founded by perennial grappler Kyle Dake who did not break any records in the 2013 NCAA Wrestling tournament... he made the record!  Dake has won four consecutive championships at for different weight classes (141/149/157/165) becoming the only NCAA wrestler to do so. 

Congrats to Penn State and all the champions for a great season of NCAA Wrestling! 

Team Results:

  1. Penn St.
  2. Oklahoma St.
  3. Minnesota
  4. Iowa
  5. Cornell
  6. Ohio St.

No comments:

Post a Comment